Data Blog

You’re reading our Data Blog, a new way of discovering public health data and getting the inside scoop on upcoming publications.

Mental Illness in Canada Published: ()

Mental illnesses have a significant impact on the health of Canadians as well as the Canadian economy, including our health and social care systems. The Report from the Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System: Mental Illness in Canada, 2015, is the first national report to use linked administrative health data (physician billing and hospitalization records), for the surveillance of mental illness. The findings are sobering:

1 in 3

1 in 3 Canadians (about 9.1 million people) will be affected by a mental illness during their lifetime. [CCHS Mental Health 2012]


5 million

Approximately 5 million Canadians received health services for a mental illness in 2009/10. That's more than the population of British Columbia. [PHAC 2015]


38%

Mental illnesses often develop during adolescence and young adulthood. Over one-third (or 38%) of Canadians with a mental illness or substance use disorder reported that their symptoms started before the age of 15. [PHAC, 2006 - re-tabulation of Fig 2.3]


Young and Old

There is an increasing trend in the use of health services for mental illness among young Canadian adolescents and a very high use among the elderly. [PHAC 2015]


30%

Canadian females are 30% more likely than males to use health services for mental illness. [PHAC 2015]


$8 billion

That’s the total estimated cost of hospital care, physician care and drug expenditures associated with mental illness in Canada in 2008. [EBIC online tool – custom tabulation of the direct costs associated with mental illness and all its diagnostic subcategories using ICD-10-CA diagnostic codes]


1 in 7

Every year, 1 in 7 Canadians use health services for a mental illness. [Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) 2015]


Next >>
Date modified:

Blogue de données

Voici notre blogue de données, une nouvelle façon de découvrir nos données de santé publique, en plus d'avoir les dernières nouvelles sur nos publications à venir.

La maladie mentale au Canada Publié le: ()

Les maladies mentales ont des répercussions importantes sur la santé des Canadiens et sur l’économie canadienne, notamment en ce qui concerne les systèmes de santé et de services sociaux. Le Rapport du Système canadien de surveillance des maladies chroniques : Les maladies mentales au Canada, 2015, est le premier rapport national ayant recours aux ensembles jumelés de données administratives sur la santé (facturation des médecins et dossiers d’hospitalisation) à des fins de surveillance des maladies mentales. Les résultats donnent à réfléchir :

1 sur 3

Un Canadien sur trois (environ 9,1 millions de personnes) sera atteint d’une maladie mentale au cours de sa vie. [ESCC – Santé mentale, 2012]


5 millions

Environ 5 millions de Canadiens — c'est plus que le total de la population de la Colombie-Britannique — ont reçu des services de santé en raison d’une maladie mentale en 2009-2010. [ASPC 2015]


38 %

Dans bien des cas, les maladies mentales se manifestent à l’adolescence et au début de l’âge adulte. Plus du tiers (ou 38 %) des Canadiens atteints d’une maladie mentale ou d’un trouble lié à la consommation d’alcool ou d’autres drogues ont affirmé que leurs symptômes avaient débuté avant l’âge de 15 ans. [ASPC, 2006 - nouvelle présentation en tableaux de la Fig 2.3]


Jeunes et moins jeunes

La tendance est à la hausse en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des services de santé en raison d’une maladie mentale chez les jeunes adolescents canadiens. D’autre part, l’utilisation de ces services est très importante chez les personnes âgées. [ASPC 2015]


30 %

Les femmes canadiennes sont 30 % plus susceptibles d’avoir recours aux services de santé en raison d’une maladie mentale que les hommes canadiens. [ASPC 2015]


8 milliards de dollars

Il s’agit du coût total estimé des dépenses associées aux soins hospitaliers, aux soins médicaux et aux médicaments attribuables aux maladies mentales au Canada en 2008. [Outil en ligne sur le FEMC – tableau personnalisé des coûts directs associés aux maladies mentales et à l’ensemble des sous-catégories de diagnostic établies en fonction des codes de diagnostic de la CIM-10-CA]


1 sur 7

Chaque année, 1 Canadien sur 7 a recours aux services de santé en raison d’une maladie mentale. [Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) 2015]


Suivant >>
Date de modification :