Data Blog

You’re reading our Data Blog, a new way of discovering public health data and getting the inside scoop on upcoming publications.

What is an Indicator Framework? Published: ()

An indicator framework answers the call for easily digestible data. If you’re one to peruse scientific data, you may already know what an indicator framework is. For those who are new to the concept, let’s break it down.

An indicator framework is an organized way to view data from different sources. It is a simple and concise way to present gathered data and help show the relevance and connection between different indicators. In a framework, data can be grouped or categorized and are often shown alongside detailed descriptions of associated measures and methods of calculation.

Illustration of the anatomy of an indicator framework. Indicator Frameworks are made up of data categories, data groups, measures, data elements and sources. For examples of these elements, see the table below.

Table 1: Anatomy of an Indicator Framework
Data Category Data Group Measure Single Data Element Different Sources
Social and Environmental Determinants Education % of population with less than a high school education, population aged 20+ years. 12.8% CCHS (2014)
Income % of population living below low-income cut-offs, after tax, total population. 9.7% CIS (2013)
Employment Average annual unemployment rate (% of labour force that was unemployed during reference period), population aged 15+ years. 6.8% LFS (2015)

How does this help make scientific data more easily accessible?

An indicator framework can be tailored to showcase the most important data from a report. Instead of skimming through 50+ pages for the three statistics you need, you can view them all on one page, and even compare them with others that you may not have considered.

There you have it! All the data you need - bite sized.


So what do indicator frameworks look like anyway? Here are some cool examples:

Chronic Disease and Injury

The Chronic Disease and Injury Indicator Framework (CDIIF) is a comprehensive pan-Canadian resource on the burden of chronic diseases, injuries and associated determinants. The Framework includes a core set of indicators and specific measures which are grouped into six core domains: Social and environmental determinants, early life/childhood risk...

View

Positive Mental Health Surveillance

The Positive Mental Health Surveillance Indicator Framework (PMHSIF) is a pan-Canadian resource on positive mental health outcomes and associated risk and protective factors. Positive mental health is a state of well-being that allows us to feel, think, and act in ways that enhance our ability to enjoy life and deal with the challenges we face. The PMHSIF includes a core set of indicators grouped...

View


<< Previous Next >>
Date modified:

Blogue de données

Voici notre blogue de données, une nouvelle façon de découvrir nos données de santé publique, en plus d'avoir les dernières nouvelles sur nos publications à venir.

Un cadre d’indicateur : C’est quoi au juste? Published: ()

Un cadre d’indicateurs constitue un moyen d’accéder à des données facilement assimilables. Si vous avez l’habitude de consulter des données scientifiques, vous savez peut-être déjà ce qu’est un cadre d’indicateurs. Pour ceux qui ne savent pas ce que c’est, voici une brève description.

Un cadre d’indicateurs est un moyen organisé de consulter des données de différentes sources. Il s’agit d’une façon simple et concise de présenter des données regroupées et de montrer la pertinence des différents indicateurs et des liens entre eux. Dans un cadre, les données peuvent être regroupées ou classées et sont bien souvent accompagnées de descriptions détaillées des mesures connexes et des méthodes de calcul.

Illustration de l'anatomie d'un cadre d'indicateur. Les cadres d'indicateurs sont composés de catégories de données, de groupes de données, de mesures, d'éléments de données et de différentes sources de données. Des exemples de ces éléments sont fournis dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Tableau 1 : Anatomie d'un cadre d'indicateur
Catégorie de donnée Groupe de donnée Mesure(s) Élément de donnée unique Différentes sources de données
Déterminants sociaux et environnementaux Éducation % de la population âgée de 20 ans et plus n’ayant pas terminé ses études secondaires. 12,8 % ESCC (2014)
Revenu % de la population vivant sous les seuils de faible revenu après impôt. 9,7 % ECR (2013)
Emploi Taux de chômage annuel moyen (% de la population active âgée de 15 ans et plus ne travaillant pas pendant la période de référence). 6,8 % EPA (2015)

Comment peuvent-ils faciliter l’accès aux données scientifiques?

Un cadre d’indicateurs peut être adapté pour présenter les données les plus importantes d’un rapport. Plutôt que d’éplucher plus de 50 pages de statistiques pour trouver les trois données dont vous avez besoin, vous pouvez voir toutes les données requises sur une seule page et même les comparer à d’autres auxquelles vous n’aviez pas pensé.

Voilà! Obtenez toutes les données dont vous avez besoin, en format pratique!


À quoi peut bien ressembler un cadre d’indicateurs? Voici quelques exemples intéressants :

Maladies chroniques et des blessures

Développé par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, le cadre d’indicateurs est une ressource exhaustive pancanadienne concernant le fardeau des maladies chroniques, des blessures, et des déterminants associés. Le cadre d’indicateurs est constitué d’un ensemble d’indicateurs de base et des mesures spécifiques regroupés en six domaines de base...

Afficher

Surveillance de la santé mentale positive

Le Cadre d’indicateurs de surveillance de la santé mentale positive est une ressource pancanadienne sur les résultats en matière de santé mentale positive et les facteurs de risque et de protection connexes. La santé mentale positive est caractérisée par un état de bien-être qui nous permet de ressentir, de penser et d’agir de manière à améliorer notre aptitude à jouir de la vie et à relever les défis auxquels nous sommes...

Afficher


<< Précédent Suivant >>
Date de modification :