Data Blog

You’re reading our Data Blog, a new way of discovering public health data and getting the inside scoop on upcoming publications.

Dementia in Canada, including Alzheimer's Disease Published: ()

Illustration depicting the umbrella term 'dementia'. Underneath the umbrella, four common types of dementia are listed: Lewy Body, Vascular, Frontotemporal and Alzheimer's.

What is it?

Dementia is a loss of mental function that affects daily activities. It happens when cells in the brain die or important nerve connections are broken. This process is known as neurodegeneration.

Alzheimer's disease is the most common cause of dementia. Vascular dementia, frontotemporal dementia, and Lewy body dementia are other common types.

Symptoms and manifestations of dementia can include memory loss, judgement and reasoning problems, and changes in behaviour, mood and communication abilities.


Who is affected?

  • Data from 2013-2014 show that more than 402,000 seniors (65 years and older) are living with dementia in Canada.
  • Of that number, 2/3 are women.
  • On average, 9 Canadians are diagnosed with dementia every hour.
  • The risk of being diagnosed with dementia roughly doubles every 5 years after age 65.
  • Seniors with diagnosed dementia are 4 times more likely to die than other seniors. [CCDSS Dementia Data Cube]

See our infographic and our upcoming fact sheet to learn more about who is affected by dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease, in Canada.


Why is it important?

Aging population

“If dementia doubles in 20 years as has been predicted, we need to know where people are going to go, and what each one costs in terms of resources, implications for rehabilitation, and quality of life." – Individual living with a neurological condition

Our population is aging. This change in our demography means that more Canadians will be living longer, and many will have chronic conditions. For example, thirty percent (30%) of Canadian seniors currently live with two or more chronic conditions.Footnote 1


Health impacts

“There is no normal anymore…everything you took for granted in your life has just kind of gone out the window, and you don’t even know what’s going to be thrown at you next. It can be different every time.” – Individual living with a neurological condition

“The impacts of these medical conditions on every facet of our lives are enormous – who could possibly think that people living with a neurological condition wouldn’t need mental health care?”      – Individual living with a neurological condition

As dementia progresses, it becomes highly debilitating for affected individuals and leads to major health impacts:

  • 48% of Canadians living in the community with dementia reported having fair or poor general health;
  • 30% reported having mood disorders;
  • 58% reported impaired mobility (limited in independent physical movement);
  • 37% reported moderate or severe pain and discomfort;
  • 57% of them reported urinary incontinence; and
  • 32% reported bowel incontinence.Footnote 2

Read Mapping Connections to learn more about the health impacts.


Women are most affected

Dementia affects women more than men. Women represent about two thirds of people affected, and that is considering Canadians currently living with dementia (prevalence) or those newly diagnosed (incidence). In long-term care facilities, this proportion is even higher, with 72% of residents with dementia being women.Footnote 3

Over the last decade, the prevalence of dementia remained significantly higher in women than in men. This gap between sexes increases with age. After age 85, the prevalence is 1.3 times higher in women than men (27% vs. 20%).

Changing the face of care

“When you take on the role of a caregiver, you enter a life-altering mode. In one phase of your life, you are doing all sorts of wonderful things as a couple, and then in the next phase you are changing your spouse’s diaper. This quantum leap in relationships is burdened with all sorts of psychological and emotional overlays.” – Informal caregiver

Caring for individuals with dementia requires many types of services delivered by formal and informal care providers. In Canada, the costs of caring for people with dementia are estimated to be 5.5 times greater than caring for people without the condition. Home care and long-term care are the biggest contributors to direct health care costs.Footnote 4

The most common problem for which seniors require help from a caregiver is general needs related with aging (28%). Dementia is the fifth most commonly reported problem requiring help (6%).Footnote 5

Effects of caregiving

  • On average, 74 hours per week of informal care is required for Canadians living with dementia.
  • Caregivers are spending $4,600 out-of-pocket annually for each person under their care that is living with dementia.Footnote 6

Informal caregivers are frequently the spouse (46%) or child (44%) of the person affected by dementia. Spouse caregivers are equally likely to be a man or a woman but daughters are far more likely (72%) than sons to provide care to a parent with dementia.Footnote 5 In addition, the social and financial impacts of caregiving are greater for female caregivers.Footnote 7


What is the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) doing?

Surveillance

Using data from the Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System (CCDSS), PHAC conducts national surveillance of diagnosed dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease, to support the planning and evaluation of policies, programs, and services. The CCDSS is a pan-Canadian partnership led by PHAC where each province and territory links administrative health databases to monitor the burden of chronic conditions. The expansion of the CCDSS to include dementia was initiated as part of the National Population Health Study of Neurological Conditions in 2011.

How do we know what we know?

In Canada, there are many ways that chronic conditions are monitored. Each data source has its benefits and limitations. That means that estimates vary between studies because of things like:

  • the differences in the definitions of the condition;
  • the age and geographical coverage;
  • the type of data.

To provide the number of people living with dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease (prevalence) and the number of people newly diagnosed (incidence) at the national level, PHAC relies on estimates from the CCDSS. The CCDSS is the only national data source that currently provides incidence data for these conditions. This system is also nearly universal, which means it includes all Canadians covered by provincial or territorial health insurance (not including Saskatchewan in the case of dementia and inherently, Alzheimer’s disease). [CCDSS Data Cubes]

Policy and program

PHAC is working with partners at home and abroad to improve our understanding of dementia. Our goal is to help reduce the risks and improve the quality of life of those affected by dementia and Alzheimer’s disease. Looking at dementia through a healthy aging lens, we intend to reduce the impact of dementia on society and to support the aging population.

PHAC is supporting the establishment of the Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation. The Centre acts as a solution accelerator and knowledge broker for the development of products and services on brain health and aging, with a focus on dementia. This is one of the actions being taken to improve the quality of life of Canadians living with dementia, their families, and their caregivers.


Dive Into the Data

Use the map below to discover the dementia estimates in Canada's provinces and territories. Navigate the map using the Next and Previous buttons or with Tab or Hover. Once a province is selected, Zoom using Click (when hovering) or Spacebar (when tabbing). Please note: The term 'dementia' includes 'Alzheimer’s disease', even when not specifically mentioned.

Estimates of Dementia in Canadian (2013)

2002 2013

Legend (Incidence, Rate per 100)






Description

The incidence rate of dementia (including Alzheimer's disease) among those aged 65+ in in was . The national incidence rate was 1.5 per 100.

This map was created using Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System data files contributed by provinces and territories (May 2017).



<< Previous Next >>
Date modified:

Blogue de données

Voici notre blogue de données, une nouvelle façon de découvrir nos données de santé publique, en plus d'avoir les dernières nouvelles sur nos publications à venir.

La démence au Canada, y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer Published: ()

Image illustrant l'hyperonyme « démence » . Quatres types de démence se retrouvent sous le parapluie : corps de Lewy, vasculaire, fronto-temporal, Alzheimer.

De quoi s’agit-il?

La démence est la perte de fonction mentale qui nuit aux activités quotidiennes. Elle est causée par la perte de cellules du cerveau ou la rupture d’importantes connexions nerveuses. Ce phénomène est appelé « neurodégénérescence ».

La maladie d’Alzheimer est la cause la plus courante de démence. La démence vasculaire, la démence fronto-temporale et la démence à corps de Lewy sont d’autres formes répandues.

La perte de mémoire, des problèmes de jugement et de raisonnement ou encore des changements du comportement, de l’humeur ou de l’aptitude à communiquer font partie des symptômes et des manifestations de la démence.


Qui est touché?

  • En 2013-2014, plus de 402 000 personnes âgées (65 ans et plus) étaient atteintes de démence au Canada.
  • Les femmes comptaient pour les 2/3 de ces personnes.
  • Pendant la même période, 9 Canadiens en moyenne recevaient un diagnostic de démence chaque heure.
  • Après 65 ans, le risque de recevoir un diagnostic de démence double presque tous les 5 ans.
  • Les aînés atteints de démence sont 4 fois plus susceptibles de mourir que les aînés non atteints. [Cube de données SCSMC sur la démence]

Consultez notre infographie et notre prochain feuillet de renseignements pour en savoir plus sur les personnes touchées par la démence, y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer, au Canada.


Pourquoi est-ce important?

Population vieillissante

« Si le nombre de cas de démence double dans 20 ans, selon les projections, nous devons savoir où les gens iront et quels en seront les coûts pour chacun relativement aux ressources, aux implications sur le plan de la réadaptation et de la qualité de vie. »

Personne atteinte d’une affection neurologique

Notre population vieillit. Ce changement démographique signifie que plus de Canadiens vivront plus longtemps et que beaucoup d’entre eux seront atteints d’affections chroniques. Par exemple, à l’heure actuelle, 30 % des personnes âgées au Canada sont atteints de deux affections chroniques ou plus.Référence 1


Effets sur la santé

« La normalité n’existe plus…Tout ce que vous teniez pour acquis dans votre vie a disparu, et vous ne savez même pas ce qui vous attend ensuite. La surprise peut être différente chaque fois. »

Personne atteinte d’une affection neurologique

« Les répercussions de ces troubles médicaux sur tous les aspects de notre vie sont énormes. Qui pourrait croire que les personnes vivant avec une affection neurologique n’ont pas besoin de soins de santé mentale? »

Personne atteinte d’une affection neurologique

À mesure que la démence progresse, elle devient très invalidante pour les personnes touchées et mène à des effets importants sur la santé :

  • 48 % des Canadiens atteints de démence qui vivent dans la collectivité ont affirmé avoir un état de santé général passable ou mauvais;
  • 30 % ont dit avoir des troubles de l’humeur;
  • 58 % ont déclaré avoir une mobilité réduite (capacité limitée de se déplacer seul);
  • 37 % ont dit ressentir des douleurs ou des malaises modérés ou sévères;
  • 57 % ont fait état d’une incontinence urinaire;
  • 32 % ont fait état d’une incontinence intestinale.Référence 2

Consultez Établir les connexions pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur les effets sur la santé.


Les femmes sont les plus touchées

La démence touche les femmes dans une plus grande proportion que les hommes. Les femmes comptent pour environ deux tiers des personnes atteintes, en prenant en considération les Canadiens déjà atteints de démence (prévalence) ou les nouveaux cas diagnostiqués (incidence). Cette proportion est encore plus élevée dans les établissements de soins de longue durée, où les femmes comptent pour 72 % des résidents atteints de démence.Référence 3

Au cours des dix dernières années, la prévalence de la démence est restée considérablement plus élevée chez les femmes que chez les hommes. Cet écart entre les sexes se creuse avec l’âge. Après 85 ans, la prévalence est 1,3 fois plus élevée chez les femmes que chez les hommes (27 % contre 20 %).

La face cachée des soins

« Lorsque vous acceptez le rôle d’aidant naturel, vous voyez votre vie se transformer. Dans un premier temps, vous vivez une vie de couple bien remplie, jusqu’au jour où tout bascule et que vous devez changer les couches de votre époux. À ce changement considérable au sein de la relation de couple se superposent des aspects psychologiques et émotionnels de tous types. »

Aidant naturel

Les personnes atteintes de démence doivent recevoir de nombreux types de services offerts par des soignants professionnels et non professionnels. Au Canada, on estime que les coûts pour les personnes atteintes de démence sont cinq fois et demie plus élevés que ceux pour les personnes qui n’en sont pas atteintes. Les coûts relatifs aux soins à domicile et aux soins de longue durée sont les dimensions les plus importantes des coûts directs des soins de santé.Référence 4

Les besoins généraux liés au vieillissement sont la principale raison pour laquelle les aînés ont besoin d’aide (28 %). La démence est la cinquième raison mentionnée (6 %).Référence 5

Effets de la prestation de soins

  • En moyenne, les Canadiens atteints de démence ont besoin de 74 heures de soins informels par semaine.
  • Les aidants naturels dépensent environ 4 600 $ par année pour chaque personne atteinte de démence dont ils ont la responsabilité.Référence 6

Très souvent, les aidants naturels sont le conjoint (46 %) ou un enfant (44 %) de la personne atteinte de démence. Tant les conjoints que les conjointes sont susceptibles d’agir à titre d’aidants naturels. Cependant, une plus grande proportion de filles (72 %) que de fils sont susceptibles de prendre soin d’un parent atteint de démence. Référence 5 De plus, les conséquences sociales et financières de la prestation de soins sont plus grandes pour les femmes agissant à titre d’aidantes naturelles.Référence 7


Que fait l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada?

Surveillance

À l’aide des données du Système canadien de surveillance des maladies chroniques (SCSMC), l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) assure la surveillance nationale de la démence diagnostiquée, y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer, en appui à la planification et à l’évaluation des politiques, des programmes et des services connexes. Le SCSMC est un partenariat pancanadien mené par l’ASPC à partir duquel les provinces et les territoires jumèlent leurs bases de données administratives sur la santé pour suivre l’évolution du fardeau associé aux affections chroniques. En 2011, dans le cadre de l’Étude nationale de la santé des populations relative aux maladies neurologiques, le SCSMC a été élargi afin d’y inclure la démence.

Comment savons-nous ce que nous savons?

Au Canada, de nombreuses méthodes sont utilisées pour suivre l’évolution des affections chroniques. Chaque source de données comporte des avantages et des limites. Par conséquent, les estimations varient d’une étude à une autre pour diverses raisons, comme :

  • les différences entre les définitions d’une maladie;
  • l’âge et la couverture géographique;
  • le type de données.

L’ASPC utilise les estimations du SCSMC pour être en mesure d’indiquer le nombre de personnes atteintes de démence, y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer (prévalence) et le nombre de personnes ayant récemment reçu un diagnostic de démence (incidence). Le SCSMC est la seule source de données nationales qui offre des données relatives à l’incidence et aux tendances dans le temps pour ces affections. De plus, ce système est pratiquement universel, c’est-à-dire qu’il comprend des données sur tous les Canadiens couverts par un régime provincial ou territorial d’assurance maladie (à l’exception de la Saskatchewan pour ce qui est de la démence, y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer). [Cubes de données SCSMC]

Politiques et programmes

L’ASPC collabore avec des partenaires au pays et à l’étranger pour améliorer notre compréhension de la démence. L’objectif consiste à réduire les risques associés à la démence et à la maladie d’Alzheimer et à améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes qui en sont atteintes. En examinant la démence dans une perspective de vieillissement en santé, nous voulons réduire les effets de la démence sur la société et soutenir la population vieillissante.

L’ASPC appuie la mise en place du Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau (disponible en anglais seulement) et le vieillissement. Le Centre agit comme accélérateur de solution et courtier du savoir pour la mise en place de produits et de services liés à la santé du cerveau et du vieillissement. Une attention particulière est accordée à la démence. Il s’agit là de l’une des mesures prises pour améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens atteints de démence, de leur famille et de leurs soignants.


Plonger dans les données

Découvrez les estimations de la démence dans les provinces et les territoires du Canada à l'aide de la carte ci-dessous. La navigation est simple : utilisez les boutons « Région précédente » ou « Région suivante », la tabulation (TAB) ou encore survolez avec votre souris. Pour faire un zoom, il suffit de cliquer avec votre souris ou d'utiliser la barre d'espacement. Veuillez prendre note que le terme « démence » inclut « maladie d’Alzheimer » même lorsque cette dernière n’est pas mentionnée.

Estimations de de la démence au Canada chez les (2013)

2002 2013

Légende (incidence, taux par 100)






Description

: Le taux d'incidence de la démence (y compris la maladie d’Alzheimer) chez les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus en était de . Le taux d'incidence au niveau national était de 1,5 par 100 personnes.

Cette carte fût créée à l'aide de données du Système canadien de surveillance des maladies chroniques fournies par les provinces et les territoires (mai 2017).


Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements et des documents sur le sujet, veuillez consulter les pages suivantes :


<< Précédent Suivant >>
Date de modification :